bob ogley photo

Talks by Bob Ogley

Bob Ogley was born in Sevenoaks, has lived in the county all his life and is proud to be a Kentish man. As author of more than 20 books he has travelled extensively in pursuit of information and photographs and is in great demand from organisations across the south-east to tell his unique story.

A former editor of The Sevenoaks Chronicle, Bob was a journalist for more than 30 years before he left his newspaper to concentrate on writing books and giving his talks. He is also a regular broadcaster on BBC Radio Kent.

The subjects covered by Bob in his talks are: War in Kent (and Surrey), the History of RAF Biggin Hill, Doodlebugs and Rockets, The Weather Wherever, Invicta — The Spirit of Kent, My life as a local newspaper reporter and, of course, The Great Storm and how it changed his life. He also has a new talk about Kent in the 19th Century which follows the launch of this most successful and popular book. Bob likes to tell humorous stories and he has an amazing collection of anecdotes which he delivers with great enthusiasm.

 


Here is Bob's diary for the coming months

Thursday 12th October: 7pm
The Great Storm
Sevenoaks Library, Buckhurst Lane, Sevenoaks TN13 1LQ
 
Saturday 14th October: 3pm
The Great Storm
Sevenoaks Town Council Offices, Bradbourne Vale Road, Sevenoaks TN13 3QG
 
Sunday 15th October: 6pm
The Great Storm
Toys Hill Hall, Toys Hill, Kent TN16 1QG
Please book in advance: 01732750249
 
Monday 16th October: 2pm
The Great Storm
Sevenoaks Community Centre, Crampton's Road, Sevenoaks TN14 5DN
 
Wednesday 18th October: 7.30pm
The Great Storm
The Wigmore Lectures Programme, Wigmore Library, Fairview Avenue, Wigmore, Kent ME8 0PX
 
Tuesday 24th October: 2.30pm
The Great Storm
Gavin Astor House, Royal British Legion Village, Aylesford ME20 7NF
 
Wednesday 25th October: 12.00pm
Doodlebugs & Rockets
Wye Luncheon Club, Sandyacres, Sandy House, Hurst Lane, Ashford
 
Thursday 26th October: 2.00pm
The Great Storm
Crowborough U3A, All Saints' Church New Hall, Chapel Green, Crowborough
 
Tuesday 7th November: 10.30am
Spirit of Invicta
Bromley U3A Studies, Bromley United Reformed Church, 20 Widmore Road, Bromley, Kent BR1 1RY
 
Wednesday 8th November: 7.45pm
Kent in the 19th Century
Faversham County Association
 
Saturday 11th November: 6.30pm
Biggin on the Bump
Men of Kent / Kentish Men, Tunstall Village Hall, Sittingbourne, Kent
 
Tuesday 14th November: 2.30pm
Biggin Hill
Lewisham Townswomen Guild, Church Hall, St Lawrence Centre, Lewisham
 
Wednesday 15th November: 7.30pm
Spirit of Invicta
Sittingbourne Allotment Holders & Gardeners Society, Tunstall Village Hall, Tunstall
 
Thursday 16th November: 2.00pm
Doodlebugs & Rockets
Tenterden U3A, St Mildred’s Church Hall, Church Road, Tenterden, Kent TN30 6AW
 
Tuesday 21st November: 2.15pm
TBC
Active Retirement Assoc. Meopham & District, Meopham Village Hall, Wrotham Rd
 
Thursday 23rd November: 8.00pm
Doodlebugs & Rockets
Horsmonden History Society, Horsmonden Methodist Church, Furnace Ln, Horsmonden, Tonbridge
 
Friday 24th November: 8.00pm
Doodlebugs & Rockets
Oddfellows, Hall Place Sports Pavilion, Bourne Road, Dartford, Bexley DA5 1PQ
 
Wednesday 6th December: 10.45am
Biggin Hill
Sittingbourne Probus, Masonic Hall, Albany Road, Sittingbourne
 
Wednesday 6th December: 7.30pm
Biggin on the Bump
Crafield Club, Chelsfield Village Hall, Church Road, Old Chelsfield
 
Friday 8th December: 7pm
Doodlebugs & Rockets
St Mary's Church, Friends of St Mary's, Sundridge, Sevenoaks, Kent TN14 6AB
 
Tuesday 12th December: 7.30pm
Kent in the 20th Century
Northiam & District Historical & Literary Society, Northiam Village Hall, East Sussex


Contacts gif
email

Updated 6 August 2017