bob ogley photo

Talks by Bob Ogley

Bob Ogley was born in Sevenoaks, has lived in the county all his life and is proud to be a Kentish man. As author of more than 20 books he has travelled extensively in pursuit of information and photographs and is in great demand from organisations across the south-east to tell his unique story.

A former editor of The Sevenoaks Chronicle, Bob was a journalist for more than 30 years before he left his newspaper to concentrate on writing books and giving his talks. He is also a regular broadcaster on BBC Radio Kent.

The subjects covered by Bob in his talks are: War in Kent (and Surrey), the History of RAF Biggin Hill, Doodlebugs and Rockets, The Weather Wherever, Invicta — The Spirit of Kent, My life as a local newspaper reporter and, of course, The Great Storm and how it changed his life. He also has a new talk about Kent in the 19th Century which follows the launch of this most successful and popular book. Bob likes to tell humorous stories and he has an amazing collection of anecdotes which he delivers with great enthusiasm.

 


Here is Bob's diary for the coming months

Wednesday 8th February: 2.45pm
RAF Biggin Hill
Shipbourne WI, Shipbourne Village Hall, Upper Green Road, Tonbridge, Kent TN11 9PL
 
Thursday 9th February: 1.45pm
Kent in 20th Century
Blackfen WI, The Holy Redeemer Church, Days Lane, Sidcup DA15 8JR
 
Monday 13th February: 8.00pm
RAF Biggin Hill
Oddfellows, Colfeian Sports Club, Horn Park, Eltham Road, Lee, London SE12 8UE
 
Tuesday 21st February: 9.00pm
Biggin on the Bump
Oxted WI, The Social Centre, Bluehouse Lane, Oxted RH8 0AD
 
Wednesday 22nd February: 9.00pm
Doodlebugs & Rockets
Jaguar Enthusiasts Club, 22 Grosvenor Road, Petts Wood, Orpington BR5 1QU
 
Monday 27th February: 8.00pm
Spirit of Invicta
Ladycroft WI, Farnborough Village Hall, High Street, Farnborough Village BR6 7BB
 
Thursday 2nd March: 2.30pm
Biggin on the Bump
Chevening WI, Chevening Parish Hall, Homedean Road, Chipstead, Sevenoaks, Kent TN13 2RU
 
Thursday 7th March: 2.30pm
Kent in the 20th Century
Gavin Astor House, Royal British Legion Village, Aylesford, Kent ME20 7NF
 
Tuesday 14th March: 2.00pm
Doodlebugs & Rockets
Oddfellows,Orpington Library, The Walnuts, Orpington, Kent BR6 0TW
 
Wednesday 22nd March: 2.15pm
Ghosts of Biggin Hill
HempstARA, Scout Hall, 1 Dukes Meadow Drive, Hempstead, Gillingham, Kent ME7 3DW
 
Tuesday 28th March: 7.30pm
Kent in the 19th Century
Strood Horticultural Society, Temple Mill School, Cliffe Road, Strood, Rochester, Kent ME2 3NL
 
Tuesday 4th April: 11.30am
Spirit of Invicta
Bexleyheath T.G, Central Library, 2 Townley Road, Bexleyheath, Kent DA6 7HL
 
Friday 7th April: 2.00pm
Kent in the 20th Century
Orpington Active Retirement, Crofton Halls, Crofton Road, Orpington, Kent BR6 8PR
 
Wednesday 19th April: 8.00pm
The Great Storm
Wateringbury Local History Group, Wateringbury Village Hall, Tonbridge Road, Wateringbury, Maidstone, Kent ME18 5DD
 
Thursday 20th April: 12.30
The Great Storm
Tunbridge Wells Probus Club, High Rocks Inn, High Rocks Lane, Tunbridge Wells, Kent TN3 9JJ
 
Tuesday 25th April: 7.30pm
The Great Storm
Hythe Civic Society, Assembly Hall, Hythe Bay Primary School, Cinque Ports Avenue, Hythe, Kent CT21 6HS
 
Thursday 18th May: 3.00pm
Kent in the 19th Century
Kings Hill ARA, Kings Hill Community Centre, 70 Gibson Drive, Kings Hill, West Malling, Kent ME19 4LG
 
Tuesday 23rd May: 8.00pm
RAF Biggin Hill
Rayleigh Horticultural Society, St Michael’s Church, Sir Walter Raleigh Drive, Rayleigh, Essex SS6 9JB
 
Thursday 25th May: 7.30pm
Kent in the 19th Century
Tunstall Gardening Society, Tunstall Village Hall. Tunstall Road, Sittingbourne, Kent ME10 1YZ
 
Monday 5th June: 2.00pm
RAF Biggin Hill
Runnymede U3A, Hythe Centre, Thorpe Road, Staines, Middlesex TW18 3HD
 
Wednesday 14th June: 2.30pm
RAF Biggin Hill
Aperfield (Biggin Hill) WI, WI Hall, Lebanon Gardens, Biggin Hill, Kent TN16 3HA
 
Thursday 15th June: 7.30pm
Doodlebugs & Rockets
Darrick Wood Evening Townswomen Guild, Victor Childs Room, St Paul’s Church, Crofton Road, Orpington, Kent BR6 8JE


Contacts gif
email

Updated 7 February 2017